Monthly reporting
Glossary
Don't know what a term means? Check out definitions of common Google Analytics & Ads features used in our monthly reporting.
A session is a period of time during which a user interacts with your website or app.
In Analytics, a session is started when a user opens your app in the foreground or views a page or screen and no session is currently active (for example, a timeout for a previous session has occurred).
By default, a session is terminated (timeout) after 30 minutes of user inactivity.
For Google Analytics accounts set up by Studio 84, a session is terminated after 4 hours of inactivity. A more realistic figure, especially for web shops.
Someone who interacts with your website whose activity you measure with Google Analytics. A new user is someone who interacts with your site for the first time.
User engagement is the average time your website had focus in the browser, or the app was in the foreground on a user's device. Using this, you can measure when users are actively using your site or app.
A session becomes an 'Unengaged session' if it exceeds a certain amount of time. The default threshold for engagement time in Analytics is 10 seconds.
For Google Analytics accounts set up by Studio 84, the engagement time is increased to 30 seconds for a more realistic figure.
A conversion, also called a goal, is an action that is counted when a visitor takes a desired or valuable action on your website.
Desired actions can vary from site to site: newsletter registration, contact form sent, clicks on your phone number, visiting your social media channels, a purchase on your webshop and much more. This makes it possible to measure the return or ROI of your investments.
With Google Analytics accounts set up by Studio 84, after a thorough analysis of your website, and case, the most relevant conversions are selected and set up. Discover more
The average number of conversions per session, expressed as a percentage.
The conversion rate is calculated by dividing the number of conversions by the total number of sessions that can be linked to a conversion in the same period. For example, if you generated 50 conversions from 1,000 sessions, your conversion rate is 5% (50 ÷ 1,000 = 5%).
Source is literally the source of traffic (e.g. Google or Facebook) or just a website that links to your site.
Medium indicates a category of source. Often organic, cpc or referral is used as a medium.
- Organic are the natural or free visitors. For example "google / organic"
- CPC (Cost Per Click) is paid. For CPC, PPC (Pay Per Click) or Paid is sometimes also used. For example "google / cpc"
- Referral is used for referrals from external sites not covered by organic or cpc. For example "studio84.be / referral"
Turnover is the total amount sold on your webshop. This includes shipping costs and taxes.
Transactions is the total number of orders or sales.
This means that a customer has completed the checkout and sent an order. Each individual transaction may contain a single product or it may include multiple products.
An average sales value is the average sales amount earned for each order.
The number of views of your search result or ad. Each time your search result or ad is displayed on a search results page (e.g. Google) or on another site/platform (e.g. Facebook), this counts as 1 display.
In some cases, only part of your ad is displayed.
When someone clicks on your ad, in any location, it counts as a click.
CTR (Click Trough Rate), or click rate, is a ratio that indicates how often people who see your ad click on it. Using the CTR, you can measure how relevant keywords or ads are to users.
The "position" statistic is an attempt to estimate where on the page a particular link is displayed, compared to other results on the page. The "average position" is the average position value for all impressions (because the position of the link varies each time).
Google position is usually calculated from top to bottom on the primary side of the page and then from top to bottom on the secondary side of the page.
An average CPC (Cost Per Click) is the average amount charged for a click on your ad. The average cost per click is calculated by dividing the total cost of your clicks by the total number of clicks.
The cost per conversion is an estimate of the return on your investment.
Formula = conv.value/cost
By conversion optimisation Studio 84 can reduce the cost per conversion.
A campaign is a collection of a set of ad groups (ads, keywords and bids) that use the same budget, location targeting and other settings.
Campaigns set up by Studio 84 always use a recognisable naming convention:
"campaign type | type of keywords | language and/or location"
For example, "Search | Generic | NL"
- Campaign type can include "Search" (advertising in the search network with keywords), "Display" (advertising on Google partner websites with banners) or "Video" (advertising on YouTube with videos)
- Type of keywords can consist of "Generic" or "Brand". Generic keywords are terms that everyone in your industry bids for. For example, "google ads expert". Brand keywords are terms that (normally) only you bid on. For example "studio 84".
- Language and/or location consists of the language code or region targeted by the campaign. For example "NL" or "NL/BE"
Find out how Studio 84 as Google Ads expert can help your company set up well-structured campaigns.
An ad group contains one or more ads (and a set of keywords at Google Ads) with similar goals.
Ad groups are used to categorise your ads based on a common theme. For example, separate ad groups based on the different types of products or services you offer.
Find out how Studio 84 as Google Ads expert can help your company set up relevant ad groups.
Words describing your product or service that you have chosen to help determine when and where your ad can be displayed in Google or Bing's search network.
Keywords are used to display your ads to users. By selecting relevant, high-quality keywords for your ad campaign, you can ensure that your ads reach only the most interested people who are likely to become customers.
Studio 84, the Google Ads expert, uses on average more than 1,000 keywords for search campaigns and opts only for accurate keyword options. so we are always sure that we:
- Shown only for searches that 100% match our terms
- Avoiding lawsuits in your industry
- We pay the lowest average CPC
Views represent the number of times content from your page or about your page has appeared on someone's screen.
Reach represents the number of people who have seen content from or about your page. This statistic is an estimate.
Web statistics
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